Latitudes of Earth – 181 latitudes including the equator – Geography

Latitude: Imaginary lines drawn parallel to the equator. Measured as an angle whose apex is at the center of the earth. The equator represents 0° latitude, while the North Pole is 90°N and the South Pole 90°S.

Latitude is an angle which ranges from 0° at the Equator to 90° (North or South) at the poles. Lines of constant latitude, or parallels, run east–west as circles parallel to the equator.

  1. 2312°N represents Tropic of Cancer.
  2. 2312°S represents Tropic of Capricorn.
  3. 6612°N represents Arctic Circle.
  4. 6612°S represents Antarctic Circle.

There are total 181 latitudes including the equator. Each parallel of latitude is a circle, but they are not equal. The circle becomes smaller towards the poles. Equator is the Greatest Circle’ that can be drawn on the earth‘s surface.

The distance between any two parallels of latitude is always equal.

One-degree latitude = Approx. 111 km.


The plane of the Earth’s orbit about the Sun is called the ecliptic, and the plane perpendicular to the rotation axis of the Earth is the equatorial plane. The angle between the ecliptic and the equatorial plane is called variously the axial tilt, the obliquity, or the inclination of the ecliptic, and it is conventionally denoted by i. The latitude of the tropical circles is equal to i and the latitude of the polar circles is its complement. The axis of rotation varies slowly over time and the values given here are those for the current epoch. The time variation is discussed more fully in the article on axial tilt.

Related Posts

Earth’s Movements – Rotation and Revolution – Geography

Earth is a planet in the solar system. Earth has 2 types of movements: Rotation or daily movement. Revolution or annual movement. 1. ROTATION Spins on its imaginary axis from west to...Read more !

Longitudes of Earth – 360 meridians of longitude – Geography

Longitudes: It is the angular distance measured from the centre of the earth. On the globe the lines of longitude are drawn as a series of semicircles that extend from the...Read more !

Earth: The Blue Planet – Geography

The Earth is also called Blue Planet. It is the densest of all planets. Circumference: 40,232 km. Area: 510 million sq. km. Average distance from sun: 149 million-km. Perihelion: Nearest...Read more !